National Undergraduate Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery Conference 2019

Organised by the University of Glasgow Plastic Surgery Society
Supported by PLASTA UK
13th April 2019 Wolfson Medical School Building, University of Glasgow


The University of Glasgow Plastic Surgery Society (UoGPSS) is holding its first National Plastic Surgery Conference on 13th April 2019, with support from the UK’s Plastic Surgery Trainee Association (PLASTA). The conference is tailored towards medical students and aims to provide undergraduates with an insight into the field of Plastic Surgery.

The day will comprise of a series of keynote talks delivered by specialists in the field of Plastic Surgery, as well as practical workshops facilitated by surgical registrars. The conference will present delegates with the opportunity to enhance their understanding of the speciality of Plastic Surgery and develop pertinent surgical skills.

Aims and Objectives

  • To provide delegates with an understanding of the field of Plastic Surgery.
  • To offer hands-on teaching of basic surgical techniques.
  • To give delegates an opportunity to present and receive feedback on their own research projects.
  • To provide networking opportunities.
  • To promote collaboration between different undergraduate medical schools.

Abstract Submission

  • Abstracts should be emailed to:
  • Deadline for Abstract Submission: 1st March 2019 (Friday)

Fee, Date and Venue

  • Date : 13th April 2019
  • Venue : Wolfson Medical School Building, University of Glasgow
  • Conference Fee:
    £22.00 for members of PLASTA or UoGPSS; £25.00 for non-members
  • No of Places Available : 70
  • Target Audience : Medical Students (all levels welcome)
  • Deadline for Abstract Submission:2359 hours on 1st March 2019



Organising Committee

Our Programme

Download as PDF


  • Mr Wee Lam (Consultant Plastic & Hand Surgeon)
  • Mr David McGill (Consultant Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon, Canniesburn)
  • Mr Jeff Downie (Consultant Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon)
  • Mr Calum Honeyman (Plastic Surgery Registrar)
  • Mr David Leonard (Academic Plastic Surgery Registrar)

Organising Committee

(Uni of Glasgow Plastic Surgery Society Committee Members)

  • Presidents: Mr William Johnston, Miss Varthini Kirupanandan
  • Vice-President: Mr Conor Beatty
  • Secretary: Miss Yip Swee Yan
  • Treasurer: Mr Jeremiah Sim
  • Conference Convener: Miss Amanda Aw
  • Sponsorship: Miss Isobel Setford
  • Publicity: Mr Nachika Ibekwe
  • Ordinary Members: Mr Eddie Carberry, Mr Samuel Ng