14th National Atrium x INSPIRE Conference

12th March 2022 (Saturday)
Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, 11 Queen Street, Edinburgh, EH2, 1JQ


Aims and Objectives

  • To provide an insight into a career in academic medicine.
  • To provide practical tips on how undergraduate students can become involved in medical research whilst at university.
  • To showcase the research of university students' medical research.

Fee, Date and Venue

  • Date : 12th March 2022 (Saturday)
  • Conference Fee : £10.00
  • Number of Places : 150
  • Suitable for : Undergraduate Medical Students, Junior Doctors, Allied Health Professionals


  • Miss Georgia Gilbert, Conference Lead
  • Miss Jessica Boyle, Conference Team
  • Mr Kuba Olszak, Conference Team
  • Miss Victoria Brook, Conference Team
  • Mr Ed Whittaker, President
  • Mr William Cambridge, Treasurer
  • Mr Moritz Steinruecke, Committee
  • Miss Prerna Khanna, Committee


The event intends to provide delegates with an insight into the medical research taking place within the society. The day will consist of a series of keynote talks delivered by experts in the field. In addition, there will be a variety of workshops to include medical technology and medical education. This conference seeks to provide an insight into a career in academic medicine.

The society seeks to ensure that delegates have equal access to this event. If you require alternative formats or other reasonable adjustments, please contact the Atrium Edinburgh Facebook page, any of the event organisers, or email atriumpresident@gmail.com with your request no later than 5th March 2022 to ensure that arrangements can be made.


Sir Kenneth Calman, KCB DL, FRCP, FRCS, FRSE, FRCGP, HonFAcadMEd
Previous Chief Medical Officer for Scotland and England
Previous Chancellor of the University of Glasgow

Professor Rustam Al-Shahi Salman, MA, MB BChir, PhD, FRCP, FHEA, FESO
Professor of Clinical Neurology and Head of the Cerebrovascular Research Group
Clinical Director of Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit
University of Edinburgh
Honorary Consultant Neurologist - NHS Lothian

Professor David Newby, FRSE, FMedSci
British Heart Foundation Duke of Edinburgh Chair of Cardiology
University of Edinburgh

Dr Debroah Wake, MBChB, BSc, PhD, Clin Ed Dip
Clinical Reader in Medical Informatics and Diabetes Care and Education
University of Edinburgh

Miss Rachel Guest, FRCS PhD MB BS BSc
Honorary Consultant Hepatopancreatobiliary Surgeon
Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh
Wellcome Trust Clinical Career Development Fellowship

Dr Agata Dunsmore
Clinical Teaching Fellow in Simulation, University of Edinburgh

Dr Lauren Clark, MBChB
Academic Foundation Doctor

Dr Olivia Groom, MBChB
Academic Foundation Doctor

Dr Bryan Conway, MBChB PhD
Senior Clinical Lecturer, University of Edinburgh

Consultant Physician, Edinburgh Centre for Endocrinology and Diabetes
Deputy Director of Teaching (Assessment) MBChB
University of Edinburgh

Dr Jay Shetty
Consultant Paediatric Neurologist
NRS Fellow
Honorary Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh
CLaH Module Organiser, University of Edinburgh

Dr Janet Skinner, MBChB FRCS FCEM MSc
Consultant in Emergency Medicine, NHS Lothian
Director of Clinical Skills, University of Edinburgh

Dr Yinka Ogundipe
Consultant Physician in MoE
Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh
Senior Medicine Organiser, University of Edinburgh

Professor Simon Maxwell, MD PhD FRCP FRCPE FBPhS FHEA
Professor of Student Learning/Clinical Pharmacology
Director of Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics teaching, University of Edinburgh
Consultant Physician, NHS Lothian

Consultant and Reader in Anaesthesia and Critical Care, NHS Lothian
Programme Director MSc in Critical Care, University of Edinburgh

Mr Hugh Paterson, BMedSci MBChB FRCS MD FRCS GenSurg
Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh
Consultant Colorectal Surgeon Western General Hospital, Edinburgh